Close this search box.
You Are Here:


Setting the strategic direction.

The South West Development Commission Board is the governing body responsible to the Regional Development Minister for setting the direction and priorities of the Commission. It has six members selected from community and local government nominations, and Ministerial appointments. The Commission’s director is an ex-officio member of the Board (no voting rights).

Primary activities

  • Setting the overall strategic direction and goals of the Commission
  • Providing guidance on specific projects and initiatives
  • Formulating Commission policy
  • Reviewing progress at regular intervals to ensure established goals are being achieved
  • Monitoring Commission expenditure
  • Promoting economic development
  • Representing the Commission at relevant meetings and functions
  • Providing a conduit between the Commission and the community
  • Facilitating cooperation between organisations in the region
  • Advocate for the South West region

Chairman Danny Griffin



Our board members

Danny Griffin, Chairman

Danny is an experienced General Manager with a demonstrated history of leadership in a variety of industrial segments.  He has held senior positions in multinationals as well as privately owned innovative organisations. He is passionate about connecting with the community at all levels.  Danny is the Plant Manager of the large Laminex wood products plant in the South West. He is also Chair of the South West Development Commission, President of the Bunbury and Geographe Chamber of Commerce, Chair of The Engineering Industry Advisory Group at UWA and a Board Member of the Forestry Industries Federation WA.  In 2017 he was awarded a ‘Fellowship’ of Engineers Australia in recognition of services to the profession.  

Catrin Allsop, Deputy Chair                                                       

Catrin Allsop is chief executive officer at Australia’s South West, the peak regional tourism organisation for the South West of Western Australia. Catrin steers the organisation’s direction, develops strategies and represents the region at trade and industry events. Catrin has significant involvement in key industry project areas such as product development, aviation and wine tourism as well as various collaborations with industry stakeholders. Catrin holds a Bachelor of Arts (Hons) in International Management and Business Administration and is currently undertaking a MBA. 

Tresslyn Smith, Board Member                                    

Tresslyn Smith is a Councillor at the City of Bunbury. Raised on a farm in Benger, Tresslyn has a background in consumer affairs including as an industrial relations and consumer affairs investigator. She plays an active role in the community, including as the director at Aqwest, chairperson of the Bunbury/Harvey Regional Council Waste Management Facility, member of the Bunbury Port Community liaison Committee, and member of the West Australian Country Health Service Ethics Committee. Tresslyn was educated at the Benger State School, St Anne’s in Harvey and is a graduate of Murdoch University.

Stan Liaros, Board Member     

Stan is the CEO of the Apprentice and Traineeship Company, Chair of Aqwest (Bunbury Water Corporation) and Board Member of the WA Construction Training Fund.

He is a former Chair of the Apprentice Employment Network WA, the South West Academy of Sport and was Senior Vice-President of the South West Football League for five years.

Stan is actively involved in business and community activities in the South West of WA where he strongly advocates for employment and training in the region.

Michelle Munns

Michelle is a proud Noongar woman, born in Bunbury. For the past 20 years, Michelle has worked in Aboriginal health in the South West. She is currently Regional Aboriginal Health Consultant for the WA Country Health Service South West. Michelle is currently the Acting Chairperson for the South West Aboriginal Medical Service (SWAMS) and previously been a Director.

Julia Meldrum

Julia is President of the Augusta-Margaret River Shire. Julia served as Deputy Shire President from 2017 until October 2019 and again 2021 until October 2023. Julia has a background in agriculture, auditing, hospitality and bookkeeping, and has also studied viticulture. She has been involved in various grass roots community organisations and associations throughout the Shire.

Our updates – delivered straight to your inbox

Want to know what’s happening around the South West region? Be kept up to date by signing up to receive our newsletter.